South of England Neurosciences Association

Encouraging professional contacts between clinicians and clinical neuroscientists in the South and South East of England for educational and didactic activities.

SENA History

SENA was conceived and established by Dr John Rees at a meeting in Brighton in November 1984, with the aim of providing clinical neuroscience meetings twice annually in Spring and Autumn. The intention was to bring together all those working in the different clinical neuroscience disciplines in the South of England.

On 21 February 2022, SENA was granted Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO) status by the Charity Commission for England & Wales [Charity No. 1198001 ⧉].

The neuroscience membership originally came from centres in the South and South East. Charing Cross Hospital joined later. The Royal London and The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery joined SENA in Autumn 2020. SENA has occasional joint meetings with SWENA (South West England Neurosciences Association).

Membership is the Consultants, Registrars and Fellows in the neurosciences (neurology, neurosurgery, neurophysiology, neuroradiology, neuropathology, neuropsychiatry, neuropsychology, neurointensive care and related disciplines and subspecialities) at all hospitals related to the major Neuroscience Centres in South of England; namely Imperial College Hospitals NHS trust, Kings College Hospital, St George's Hospital, Wessex Neurological Centre at Southampton General Hospital, Hurstwood Park Neurological Centre at Princess Royal Hospital, the John Radcliffe Hospital in Oxford, The Royal London Hospital, and The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery.


1984-1985: Dr John Rees
1985-1990: Dr Lee Illis
1990-1995: Dr Pauline Monro
1995-2000: Dr John Rees
2000-2009: Dr Michael O'Brian
2009-2013: Dr Russell Lane
2013-2019: Dr Thomas Britton
2019-date: Prof Raad Shakir


1985-1992: Dr John Rees
1992-1995: Dr Christopher Clough
1995-1999: Dr Philip Barnes
1999-2009: Dr Paul Hughes
2009-2018: Dr William Gibb
2018-date: Dr Christopher Carswell


1985: Dr Simon Nurick
1995: Professor Graham Holder
2012: Dr Ashwin Pinto
2018-2020: Dr Julia Aram
2018-date: Dr Romi Saha


Chairman Bursary Committee

1995-2007: Professor Richard Hughes