SPRING 2022 | FRIDAY 22 APRIL 2022

hosted by The Royal London Hospital

Local SENA representatives: Dr Ruth Dobson and Dr Charles Marshall

Venue: Derek Willoughby Lecture Theatre

Sir John Vane Building, Queen Mary University of London,
Charterhouse Square, London. EC1M 6BQ

For enqueries e-mail [email protected]


Timings and speakers subject to change

Click on speaker names for short bio

0815 - 0900

Arrival refreshments @The Shield Café

~ 0850 Attendees will move to the Derek Willoughby Lecture Theatre

0900 - 0910 Opening Address [10 mins]
Prof. Raad Shakir, Dr Ruth Dobson and Dr Charles Marshall
0910 – 0950 Brain injury in cardiac arrest: winning hearts and minds [40 mins]
Dr Nikos Gorgoraptis
0950 – 1030 Mitochondrial disease and genetic epilepsies  [40 mins]
Dr Olivia Poole
1030 – 1100 Coffee break [30 mins] + Sponsor presentations
@The Shield Café
1100 – 1140 The need for equitable treatment in MS  [40 mins]
Dr Ruth Dobson
1140 – 1220 Clinical approach to primary progressive aphasia  [40 mins]
Dr Charles Marshall
1220 – 1300

Lunch Break [40 mins] + Sponsor presentations
@The Shield Café

1300 – 1340 MND mimics and chameleons  [40 mins]
Dr Apeksha Shah
1340 – 1420 Inflammation in epilepsy  [40 mins]
Dr Britta Wandschneider

1420 – 1500 'Doctor, is Parkinson's genetic?' What do we know and is it changing our practice? [40 mins]
Dr Alastair Noyce
1500 – 1530 Coffee break [30 mins] + Sponsor presentations
@The Shield Café
1530 – 1610 The Holistic Management of MS: treating MS beyond DMTs [40 mins]
Prof. Gavin Giovannoni
1610 – 1730 Registrar case presentations
7 minutes presentation + 2 minutes Q & A per centre
~1730 Closing remarks
1930 Dinner
[Subject to separate registration]

There are limited places available for the dinner which is being held at the XXXX ⧉ (subject to change). Please register your interest in attending the social dinner by email to [email protected].

N.B. The social dinner for clinicians and speakers is not funded by sponsors and is paid by the attendee. Sponsors are of course welcome to register.


If you would like to learn more about sponsoring the SENA meeting, please contact Dr Chris Carswell, SENA Honorary Secretary, at [email protected].

  • SENA
  • St. George's Hospital

The companies listed below have provided financial support for this meeting through an unrestricted grant or sponsorship but have no involvement in the meeting organisation, agenda, speaker selection, or content outside of their own sponsor presentation that is shown during the coffee and lunch breaks.

  • Allergan - an Abbvie ompany
  • Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
  • Angelini Pharma
  • Aspire Pharma
  • Bial
  • Biogen
  • Britannia Pharmaceuticals Ltd
  • Eisai Limited
  • Eli Lilly and Company Ltd
  • GE Healthcare
  • GW Pharmaceuticals plc.
  • Ipsen Limited
  • Janssen UK
  • Merck
  • Novartis
  • Roche
  • Sanofi Genzyme
  • Teva Pharmaceuticals
  • UCB